7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 25, 2017 5:08 PM by ms.T RSS

Setting up 350 again - stuck on "Initializing..."

eunciesu

I see that you have removed 350 support from the new desktop app, however it's not possible to set up a 350 on the web app - the desktop app is required.

When I try to set it up it just gets stuck on "initializing..." with no hope of advancing. This is NOT a network issue. I am a professional network engineer and have sniffed the traffic, the 350 makes calls out including to myip.sling.com.edgesuite.net successfully and issues UDP broadcasts which reach my laptop. There is a M1 on the same network working perfectly fine.

Can you please advise if it's actually possible to set this model up any more?

Thanks

• Re: Setting up 350 again - stuck on "Initializing..."
          djackow

I am having difficulties as well.  If you are getting stuck at initializing, then make sure that your computer is hard wired to the router and not wifi.  You may want to make static and change the slingbox lan IP.  Use a different computer to perform the startup.

I was getting stopped at initialization, changed the port and got past that.  Also, I turned off my second sling box (Pro HD) and set the pass through on my crappy Pace Uverse gateway.  I was getting stuck at the download of channels until I changed the laptop I was using to try to make the connection.  Again using a wired connection and not wifi.

Hope these things help and I also hope this time my changes stick.  I've gone through this process before on this current setup and my slingbox was set up until I changed channels using the internet interface after which the slingbox hung and would no longer show as connected.  This is such a miserable, time consuming experience owing partly to the poor ability to know where the issue is occurring.

Good Luck!