10 Replies Latest reply: Feb 9, 2011 8:43 PM by davidyan RSS

How to watch program on TV when away from home?

davidyan

When I am away from home, how can I watch programs on TV ,  internet ready.

Not on pc, mobiles.

What shall I buy or prepare ?

Thanks in advance.

• Re: How to watch program on TV when away from home?
          davidyan

anyone can help me ?

jimfitzgerald Apprentice

If you don't have a SlingCatcher (obsolete), the only way is to plug your laptop or smartphone into your tv.

davidyan

I am new to this system, can you give me more detail on the device.

1. How many device need to buy ?

2. which device use at home, which use at hotel ?

callanish Apprentice

Basically, you will be streaming everything from the slingbox ( Hooked up to your cable or Satellite box and connected to an internet connection ) at home where it will stream your programming to your computer no matter where you are. If your computer and TV has an hdmi connection, you can watch the slingbox stream on the TV. If you can find a slingcatcher, it was designed, to do away with the computer and communicate directly with the slingbox with the benefit of using a hardware remote to watch your slingbox and stream it to another location without the hassle of having to connect the stream through your computer. So, to answer your questions

1) You'll need 1, the slingbox to watch your home content on a computer or 2 devices if you can purchase one of the few slingcatchers that still exist for people like me that want to watch their home countries content on their big screen TV in another country and enjoy the advantages of having a hardware remote control.

2) More than likely you'll be using your laptop at a hotel to watch your slingbox at a hotel and if you are lucky, the TV will be HDMI equipped.

davidyan

My understanding is below:

The condition is I will be oversea most of the days. I need to watch TV away from home, don't use computer things.

The solution is :