4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 9, 2011 8:11 AM by newboy RSS

Dry running SlingCatcher

newboy

I have just bought a Slingbox and SlingCatcher to enable me to watch UK TV at my holiday home in Portugal which will soon have broadband. As I am new to this technology I would like to set the system up and test it here in the UK  where I have the time to do it and where I know I can get help if needed. I only have one router here in the UK so presumably I would need to set up the SlingCatcher at a friend's house and link it to his TV. Also, will I need a PC in Portugal to set up the SlingCatcher there? Does anyone know if the 90 day free advice from Sling Media starts when the Slingbox/SlingCatcher is purchased or when the software is downloaded?

• Re: Dry running SlingCatcher
          dbsguy Apprentice

The 90 day assistance starts from the day of purchase.

Yes you can set it up in the UK to test it out first; infact I'd suggest that.

Setup the slingnbox in the home and then try to use the sling cather on the same LAN as well as from a remote location to eliminate problems before actually moving the slingcather to it's final destination in Portugal.

Just a helpful hint. Setup a "static" internal IP address for the slingbox so you won't experience any issues after a power outage. If you don't it might put you in a positiion of being without tv until someone can reset the box or resetup the slingbox at the home location. By settign a static internal ip address though the router you will eliminate the issue and have a consistant always on connection.

newboy

Thank you that was reassuring but how do I put a static IP address on the slingbox?

dbsguy Apprentice

The steps to setting up a "Static IP" address depend on your specific router. You'll need to consult the user manual, manufacturer website or web access control panel for your specific make/model.

newboy