7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 5, 2011 4:58 AM by Jenningsville RSS

How to customise (fix) remote config?

psidnell Newbie

I'm new to the whole slingbox eco system so I'm figuring I'm missing out on some relevant history here.

For reference I've got a Humax PVR9200t (a moderately successful UK "freeview" digital terrestrial receiver) and a Solo.

This is technically a supported device in that during setup there was an option specifically for that model. Unfortunately, while most of the basic functionality works, the bits that don't cripple it. In particular the cursor buttons seem to activate twice for every single use via the slingbox remote making useful viewing essentially impossible. I'm not alone here, I've found others with the same problem going back to 2008 so there's obviously something awry with the IR codes in a database somewhere.

During setup I noticed an advanced a setting with slow/medium/fast options and I've tried all of them but with no obvious difference in behaviour. This seems to be the limit of the configuration options open to me, I can find no supported way of getting it to "learn" from my physical remote as I have done when faced with similar problems using universal remotes in the past.

I've had quite an extensive dig around on the interwebs and this is where it gets confusing.

I've found references to, and downloaded, some home brew IR files that claim to solve my problem but I can find no way to install them on the sling box using the web config tools. Every where I look for help I see references to and videos about some sort of native configuration client from slingbox that I should use, but that's either been obsoleted or was never available for the Solo/Mac, is seemingly no longer developed and seems to be unavailable for download, it may not even work with the latest firmware, I'm guessing. But the message is clear: THOU SHALT USE THE WEB CONFIG.