7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 11, 2012 8:12 PM by macted Branched to a new discussion. RSS

Dead Pro-HD

JMagliola

I'm a tech guy at work, I've done business with LOTS of companies, both small and large. I've had experience with warranty issues in ALL areas.

I've had slingboxes in my house since day 1 that you could buy them, I've had almost every model. It was a long time coming, but the PRO-HD finally did everything I wanted it to, without silly adapters and such.

I was thrilled!! I'd never had a problem with any slingboxes in the past and all was well.

Now a few weeks ago all of a sudden my slingbox stopped working.

It WILL NOT CONNECT to the network. The horseshoe light cycles through a pattern every 30 or so seconds and the LAN light blinks a few times, Then the whole cycle starts over.

I come here, and see that "the slingbox isnt getting enough power" Oh! Great! I have a solo and an A/V and their power adapters work just fine! I swap them, NO good.  Yet they still power the other slingboxes just fine.

Ok, time to get some support......wait what's this? 30 bucks?! To support a TOP OF THE LINE device that I paid a couple hundred for?! What is that about!! Sling, BAD MOVE.  To top it off, when you call their 800 number, you can just tell that you're going to get some person on the phone that A) Does not care about your problem, B) Reads from a script and C) Ultimately won't be able to comprehend what's going on.

SO here I am - left with only community support, for the top of the line slingbox.  I'm thinking that an update was performed and it screwed something up.

I have swapped all external things I can - power adapters, cat6 cables......etc.

Any ideas?

*** Edited to observe Slingbox Answers Forum House Rules by Moderator. ***

• Re: Dead Pro-HD
          mcree