0 Replies Latest reply: Dec 21, 2016 2:40 PM by motisko RSS

Poor Quality - GREAT Internet pipes

motisko
    Visibility: Open to anyone

So I've spent no less than 2 hours on this topic and looking over searches in the k-base.  First, let me say sling is HORRIBLE with their documentation and keeping it current.  They allow searchable content that is old and completely defunct and sends you down tangent of frustration with old, outdated suggestions.  So I'm researching results that no longer apply including how to find my firmware version and other items not obsolete.

Anyway - What's wrong here?

I'm an IT professional for 20 years.  Where my slingbox500 is located, I have a 136 meg down | 12 meg up consistent pipe with no issues for the 7 years I've had it.  ISP is a beast and never goes down, has issues, etc.  Inside that network, no one currently resides outside a person just surfing pages.  Slingbox 500 sits inside this network and is connected via an ethernet connection - yep, I've even made sure to remove it from Wifi to avoid those a/b/n/g/ac throughput issues. I've also gone into the router (Netgear R7000) and give the mac address of the slingbox high priority in both upload and download priority in QoS. I had port forwarding configured from an earlier slingbox solo too, but seeing how the 500 no longer needed this, I removed it - still nothing here but make it noted, I tried this from the earlier Slingbox Solo years.  No other fancy stuff in the network settings in any way.  Everything pretty much default and no flash upgrades of the router to some hack version stuff.