3 Replies Latest reply: Dec 18, 2010 1:00 PM by Loaded RSS

Disappointed in Mac Support

DerekSt

I have been a Slingbox Pro user for about 3 years.

I use the Slingplayer on Mac, and the (expensive) iPhone app. 

I read that the new iPad app will require a newer unit, and while I didn't really want to upgrade I decided I would in order to support a company whose product I enjoy.

So, today I bought a SlingBox Pro HD (at full retail price) and I have to say that I am quite dissatisfied with the experience.

1. I set up through the existing SlingPlayer Mac app to find that I won't get any HD:
        Screen shot 2010-11-21 at 1.21.49 PM.png
      2. I visit the web page and discover that it won't work unless I downgrade Safari to run in 32-bit mode.

Come on guys - this lack of support for the fastest-growing computing platform is reprehensible.

I am very unhappy and feel like a sucker for "upgrading" this unit.  The visual quality I'm getting on the computer and iPhone is no different than what I was getting on the Pro.  Is there really a reason that the iPad needs Pro, or was this just a ploy to drive upgrades?

• I don't want to watch Slingbox in a webpage.  I want to use native apps.
      • I expect the Mac client to get the same care and attention that the Windows client does.
        • Re: Disappointed in Mac Support
          DerekSt

Argh...making matters worse, the video freezes every 5 seconds or so, something the old red Pro unit did not do.  (It does this on web, iPhone and Mac.)

Anyone else have this problem?

TheKozaks Newbie

I also currently have a Slingbox Pro HD and have been (and continue to be) DISGUSTED by the lame-a** Mac support from Sling since DAY ONE and the utter MISNOMER of the Pro HD being either PRO *OR* HD (no HDMI and pathetic Mac support should warrant BIG RED warning notes on the specs and description, at the very least).