3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 27, 2010 1:45 AM by alanrichey42 RSS

Please help a Newbie!

Anniel Newbie

I am not very technical. Today a friend set up my Slingbox Pro and it works well on my laptop. I have also purchased a Sling Catcher for use when I stay with my son in the Caribbean. I have used the wireless Turbo plugs to connect to my router as it is a separate room from my Sky box and my Slingbox.

My questions are:

1. Should I configure the Sling Catcher here in the UK before I leave for the Caribbean?

2. Do I need to take my laptop to the Caribbean in order to make the Sling Catcher to recognise my Sling Box in the UK? Or can I just use his laptop to

log to my slingbox acct. here in UK

3. Can someone explain to me in simple terms how the Catcher works? Is it really just a matter of attaching a cable from the Sling catcher to the TV?

or is there extra setting up work to do?

I would be grateful for any help and reassurance as my son is also not very techie and I really do not want to end up ringing the Slingbox people from overseas.

Anniel

• Re: Please help a Newbie!
          alanrichey42 Master
          I am not very technical. Today a friend set up my Slingbox Pro and it works well on my laptop. I have also purchased a Sling Catcher for use when I stay with my son in the Caribbean. I have used the wireless Turbo plugs to connect to my router as it is a separate room from my Sky box and my Slingbox

First point to make is that you MUST have the Slingbox setup for remote viewing.  So take the laptop to someone else's house or a WiFi hotspot and make sure.

1. Should I configure the Sling Catcher here in the UK before I leave for the Caribbean

Not necessary but it does no harm.   It might be a good idea to set the video resolution to the one you expect to use in the Caribbean.  The Sligcatcher can drive NTSC and PAL but if the wrong one is selected you might not get a picture.