5 Replies Latest reply: May 21, 2011 3:49 AM by wellspokenman RSS

Why do you bury your Desktop download

CoffeeAddict

What the heck happened to the usability of your site!  Every time I come to your site, I click on downloads to look for SlingPlayer Desktop and I cannot freaking find the download.  I have to go to some arbitrary link and through some combursome non-intuitive unusable flow to even get to the page for the download.

What the heck?  This is so unusable.

• Re: Why do you bury your Desktop download
          brewcrew9

I could not agree more, I am new to sling but not to the internet and this has to be one of the most poorly set up site I have ever seen. Downloads are buried, Mac software is buggy as ****.......not sure I am going to keep this Sling Pro HD , if things don't get better quick.

alanrichey42 Master

I think you will find this is intentional.

I don't have any inside knowledge but I suspect a decision was made a few months ago to discontinue work on the standalone players and just concentrate on the web-based player.   So the downloads were quietly moved to the background so new users would not know they existed and would assume the web-based player was the only option.  So the Mac player was left in a very old state and I suspect we will not get any updates to the PC version.

Unfortunately there are some problems with the web-based player.  It is 100% reliant on the Sling servers so during the recent debacle with the server migration the support staff had to resort to recommending people revert to use SlingPlayer V1.5 to access their boxes  

Also, like most Sling 'upgrades' it is has a lot less functionality than the standalone players.  In my own area of expertise of on-screen remotes, ALL the configurability (adding custom remotes, changing Remote skins..) has been removed

So all we can do is continue to point people who read these threads to the download links (at least they haven't been removed)