4 Replies Latest reply: Jan 25, 2017 5:59 AM by kingchrism RSS

Chromecast button intermittent at best.

vtjay79

Before I begin, I'm an IT professional and was a previous Domain / Network administrator as well and now work in Software / Database administration.   So I know a thing or two, but admit I don't know everything.

The FAQ on the Chromecast support is not up to snuff, and we, the community need answers as this used to work flawlessly, but, in the past I don't know how many months it barely works. 

I own three homes, with three different internet companies, and multiple different Chromecast sticks.  All of them suffer the same intermittent problems.   Previously, before May 12 2016 (the latest update), I was able to go to the Chromecast app, select the device, and all the sudden the chromecast button would activate in the Slingplayer app.  But this doesn't seem to be the case any more and there is no rhyme nor reason as to what activates it.

I've tried rebooting the chromecast (which actually my chromecast turns on with my TV on fresh boot every time), I've tried casting my screen and continuously disconnecting / reconnecting my Slingplayer app during this, which seem to do nothing, I yell at the phone, which doesn't seem to do anything either...and then after re-configuring my entire Chromecast network settings, which doesn't do anything...clearing the data/cache on the app and re-logging in...and shortly after admitting defeat...the button may or may not show up.  

I would like to imagine this should actually work 100% of the time, but it works maybe 3%

We, the people that pay for these things, should be have this ability and not suffer the frustration of having bought a 500 box because it sometimes/kinda/maybe/once in a blue moon works.

At the very least, I'd like access to an older repo of APK's so I can just use something that used to work.