15 Replies Latest reply: Sep 14, 2010 8:47 PM by bw1128 RSS

pro-hd with directv and hdmi

bw1128

so im new to this. if i plug the coaxial cable then my hdtv doesnt get a signal. what can i do?

i have the home network for directv so my coaxial cable has to go to the swim system then to my dvr then hdmi to my tv. how do i stream line the slingbox into the mix? my router is next to the whole system.

please help?!?! also, can someone please confirm that i will be able to view a channel on my iphone while my wife watches a different channel at home?

• Re: pro-hd with directv and hdmi
          jimfitzgerald Apprentice

Leave the Direct tv and television setup as is.  Add component video and left right audio cables out of your DVR into your Slingbox.  Install the IR blaster cable from your Slingbox to the front of your DVR to control your DVR using your Slingbox virtual remote. Run an ethernet cable from your Slingbox to your router. This setup will allow you to view any channel your DVR is receiving via your computer or IPhone.   However, you will have to watch the same channel that is also being sent to your tv.

Now, your Slingbox Pro-HD has an internal tv tuner.  You can use this tuner to view different channels using your computer or phone.  However, the Slingbox tuner needs a signal source.  It is usually a coax cable coming from cable tv or an antenna.  I don't know anything about satellite tv, so I'm not sure if you can use the Direct tv coax feed or not.  If you can, run your Direct tv coax cable through your Slingbox, then to your Direct tv receiver.  If you can't use the Direct tv coax feed, you may want to install an antenna for an OTA signal to use as your second source.

bw1128

so i dont have to use the coax from the wall into the sling then into the tv? thats what the instructions states. but this interupts the signal to my tv via hdmi. also where do i plug the ethernet cable into my modem? any slot open?

jimfitzgerald Apprentice