18 Replies Latest reply: Jul 4, 2010 8:50 PM by johnseeger RSS

Setting up second slingbox

johnseeger

I’m sorry but tried to search this issue again and can not find answers…

I just purchased a second slingbox (pro HD) and currently have had a solo connected for about a year (using turbo).  I remember a couple days ago finding a post explaining something about 5001 and using 5002 for the second slingbox. I have no experience at this or have a clue what this is in reference to.

When I set up my solo a year ago, the software did all the set up automatically. Do I have to setup the pro HD manually? I want to run both boxes from the same router using two different cable boxes.

Any help is greatly appreciated,

John

• Re: Setting up second slingbox
          eferz Expert

If your intention is to only watch locally, then you won't need to change the default port of the Slingbox.  However, if you intend in having them both available remotely then you'll need to change one of them to have a unique port number.  This is because the port forwarding rules on your router can only pair a single port number to one IP address.

The screen to change the port number of the Slingbox is the same screen where you can set its static IP address.

johnseeger

Thanks once again for your promt reply:

OK, still trying to understand the instructions for the PC:

1. Launch SlingPlayer 2.0 for Windows.
              2. Choose Setup Assistant from the Settings menu.
              3. Click Next, select your Slingbox (if you have more than one), enter the administrator password, and click Next again.
                You should be on the Slingbox Settings page within the Setup Assistant.
              4. Click Setup Internet Viewing, on the left side.
              5. Click the link at the end of the sentence If you're an advanced user and would like to configure your router manually (beneath the picture).