4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 10, 2015 2:52 PM by ACC6324714 RSS

No Volume on iPad air

ACC6324714
    Visibility: Open to anyone

I am new to Slingbox so I hope it is something simple!  I have a Slingbox 500 with Comcast X1, the setup went well.  I am on WiFi in another city and the video is very good with no buffeting but I have no volume!  I have restarted the iPad Air and the volume works well an all other App's & Safari.  All the buttons on the remote control seems to work normal and show a label with each command except the volume, it does nothing!  Any ideas?

THX Larry

• Re: No Volume on iPad air
          JohnKeller Newbie

Hi Larry,

In my experience, no audio is usually something simple that has been overlooked.  Unfortunately, as you are in a remote location, some of the troubleshooting steps I'm going to recommend would need to be completed at the Slingbox home location.  I'm glad that you were able to fully test the remote control functionality and confirm that it seems to be working, as well as restarting the iPad itself.  Both of those steps are good things to try when troubleshooting this kind of issue.  Since you are attempting to view remotely, another step you could immediately try is uninstalling and reinstalling the SlingPlayer application, as well as making sure the volume on the SlingPlayer isn't muted.  Additionally, if you have access to a PC or Mac computer, you could test your audio on that device by going to watch.slingbox.com, and logging into your account there.  If you have audio from a computer, then you have isolated the issue to the iPad.

Here are some troubleshooting steps to try from the home location: