20 Replies Latest reply: Aug 2, 2010 2:31 PM by eferz RSS

ISP blocking Slingplayer and watch.slingbox.com?

donmcnamee1

Do you think my ISP blocking Slingplayer and watch.slingbox.com?

I have been using my Slingplayer application (Mac)  for over three years without fail. Woke up a day ago to find the application would not talk back with my Slingbox in Canada (I'm currently in New Zealand).
      Description of Problem:
      Launch Slingplayer, it attempts to make contact with slingbox overseas by using Sling ID. After several seconds it brings up a dialogue box asking for password (user or admin). I type in the correct password and it responds several seconds later with the same request, repeated. My iPhone Slingmobile app works however on the same network - but I believe the iPhone app is using http streaming, different protocols/ports.
      I have taken my laptop to friends house, using a different isp and Slingplayer application works fine - both slingplayer app and via browser. Using my macbook pro at work (corporate network, bypassing firewall), slingplayer and watch.slingbox.com work fine as well.
      I have tried three different devices on home network; mac mini, macbook pro and old powerbook - with different os builds but all running latest version of slingplayer for mac 1.0.10. and they do not work, showing the same password request. I have not made any home modem, network, os or security patch changes.
      I have tried setting a specific device to to act as DMZ server but this has not helped. I have VNC'd into a computer in Canada running Mac 1.0.10 slingplayer app build and it too works fine, compared to my own local issue. I have logged a support job with my isp, asking them if they have made any changes in the last few days, have they changed their terms and conditions, are they doing packet inspection - call is open and I expect it to escalate over coming days. Also logged support question with Sling.

my next steps and ideas are to: