38 Replies Latest reply: Aug 10, 2011 10:17 PM by hrrww3 Branched to a new discussion. RSS

SlingBox Classic on Android

Jaypoc

Four years ago, I bought the SlingPlayer Classic and fell in love with a new brand. The SlingPlayer Mobile is the ONLY mobile application I have ever spent money on (I have been using Windows Mobile for 5+ years). I consider it a great buy. I am hopefull that my licence will transfer to the Android version, but I am not against buying it if necessary.

I am upset however that the Android marketplace states that the SlingBox Classic is not supported. Is this so? Does it mean that it will not work, or just that it has not been tweaked for optimal performance (or newer boxes have been tweaked for mobile performance)? I have never had any issues with the SlingBox classic on Windows Mobile and have used it on 3 phones. I didn't switch to Android until recently when I heard that the SlingPlayer Mobile for Android was in development, now I may be S.O.L.

It's only been 4 years since I got the SlingBox and I don't believe that Sling should be cutting off customers who have purchased their original products. II don't replace my TV, stereo or DVD player every 4 years. I shouldn't be forced to replace my SlingBox every 4 years either. Especially when the core functionality is the same (The only feature I need is remote control, and remote viewing of my home TV). I can't justify spending another $150 + $30 just to maintain the same functionality I had 3 weeks ago when on Windows Mobile.

• Re: SlingBox Classic on Android
          torque91