8 Replies Latest reply: Sep 18, 2014 12:58 AM by cniiptv RSS

Slingbox 500 and OS X Yosemite

duncansinfield

As a developer, I installed Apple's latest operating system, OS X 10.10 Yosemite, and determined Slingplayer on Safari is not compatable. Also tried using Google Chrome on the same computer and ran into the same problem. Does anyone have a workaround to get Slingplayer to work on OS X Yosemite, and more importantly, is Slingbox developing a player that will work with Apple's latest operating system (not released for public use until Fall 2014)?

• Re: Slingbox 500 and OS X Yosemite
          tiborg Newbie

I have the same issue. The plugin needs to check for OS version >= supported version. The current check method means all our Slingboxes will become useless when the company goes under and we upgrade our OS. Unfixed, this is just another reason not to buy a Slingbox when our current one dies.

cyberjunkyfreak

First of all, tiborg's comments are way out of line... it's a beta release OS!

To answer your question, it's a quite simple fix.  Just go the the "Develop" menu in Safari, and change the User Agent to something other than Safari 8.0.  I chose "Google Chrome - Mac" and can sling with Safari on Yosemite (currently running beta 2 build that released yesterday, June 17th).

If you do not see the "Develop" menu in Safari, go to Safari's preferences menu, and in the Advanced section, check the "Show Develop menu in the menu bar" box.

I can't speak for the company, however I have no reason to doubt that fine folks at Sling will have a plugin available for Yosemite by the time the OS hits a public release.

In the meantime... if the above work around works for you... Happy Slinging!

tiborg Newbie

Being a beta has nothing to do with this issue. The issue is what happens when Sling can't provide an update to their plug-in.