8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 29, 2014 1:10 AM by tcaradonna RSS

Slingbox and Roku

knoameshie

I need to vent my disapointment! I just got on the slingbox wagon a week ago. Work great on PC. To make it work on Roku was a hassle. Felt like I was forced to buy the sling application on the app store just so that I can play it on the roku. But once I started playing it on the Roku I couldn't do anything else with my iPhone. Anything I tried to do will just disconnect the Roku.Why can't we have a native app for the Roku that doesn't take hostage my smart phone? And how can anyone else watch slingbox on Roku when I'm not there with my phone? Maybe they each have to buy the slingplayer app which COST $15? And why should I have to buy it the application twice if I ant to put it on my iPad and my iPhone? On top of that I have to do free advertisement for slingbox on Facebook? Please the least I ask is to liberate my device so I came a phone call while watching my slingbox.

• Re: Slingbox and Roku
          caseybates

I'm in the exact same boat.  I bought a Roku for my garage TV thinking I could stream to it.  Turns out my phone has to be on and I can't do anything on it or I lose the connection.  What happens when I get a phone call?  I lose the signal. 

Roku, are you planning on updating the Roku app?  Or do I need to buy a Google TV device to get a native slingbox player?

ashwortr

Slingbox for Roku is very new, while I've been using the Slingbox App on iPad and iPod Touchs for a long time (and payed a lot more that $15).  The issue is in how the the Roku app appears to work.  While the Slingbox control interface in Boxee Box and NeoTV are much more difficult to use than in say the iPad (which like a PC, presents a replica of my remote control for my TiVO where it's connected and works fine (with expected delay), Roku doesn't have such an app that can connect to the Slingbox, and simply takes over the one-user service to the Android phone or iPod/iPhone connection.