1 Reply Latest reply: Jun 3, 2010 3:45 AM by eferz RSS

HELP! Slingbox internet viewing problems!

MissTap

Hello Everyone-

I am new to slingbox, and I have been trying to get this set-up completed for hours now....

First, I'll begin with what equipment I have.... slingbox solo, directv dvr, linksys router (wrt54g).

I am not a computer tech savy person in the least.... so bare with me lol.

I went thru the whole set-up process....Succeeded in seeing my tv on both my mac laptop and pc laptop. However, when it started running for tests for internet viewing, it kept saying incomplete and that it wouldn't work. I tried letting it do its automatic router fix, but that of course didn't work. So, then I choose the manual option. I have never configured the router before, so everything is wide open (yes, I need to figure out how to block others off of my network lol...). I managed to complete the manual router set-up exactly as described by slingbox. Still no luck. I then went back in thinking I need to click something else, so I enabled remote on my router. Still nothing.

Obviously the whole reason we all have slingboxes is so that we can view our tvs outside of our homes.... and I am very disgruntled that I can't seem to get this all working for use outside of my house. I really wanted to download the iphone app, but I'm scared to spend the extra money until I see if I can even access it from an outside computer.

Has anyone had this problem before?? Any help would be very very very much appreciated.!!! Thank you ahead of time!

• Re: HELP! Slingbox internet viewing problems!
          eferz Expert

Once you have the local viewing setup for your Slingbox your done with its configuration.  The only thing that's preventing you from remote viewing is your router.  And opening up your network to the world is a very bad idea, and not to mention isn't going to provide access to your Slingbox.