3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 2, 2013 6:13 PM by chakkarinen RSS

Many SlingBox questions from a prospective buyer

adamforum

Hello all,

My first exposure to SlingBox occured while I was a student at the university.  One day while sitting through an electrical engineering lecture, a student in front of me opened up his laptop and watched a live major league baseball game -- in high definition.  The quality impressed me enough to research the technology he was using: SlingBox.  Now I must admit I am not an avid television viewer -- most of the TV I watch in a year takes place while I'm on vacation visiting relatives (I don't even own a TV).  I do watch some shows occasionally online, but for the most part I would rather write code than watch TV.

However, I recently moved to a new apartment that has extended cable TV built into the monthly rental fee.  Absolutely ridiculous.  Since I have to pay for it, I will definitely find a way to use it.  This reminded me of SlingBox.  As I reviewed some of the content on the SlingBox site, I found that I have several questions:

1.  The SlingBox that I remember from years ago had more of a manual configuration (e.g. you specified a hostname or IP address to connect and then your router was setup to port fortward/trigger to the SlingBox.  The new documentation I've found online seems to reference an online Sling service that makes it easier to connect for non-technical users.  Is the direct connection option still available (e.g. for someone like me who doesn't want to use the Sling online service to facilitate the connection?)

2.  I always assumed that the software for viewing the SlingBox was free....but after reading the website it seems like you have to pay for it separately??  I would like clarification as to whether this is true.

3.  It is my understanding that a SlingBox will only allow one concurrent WAN connection (viewer), but multiple (limit?) LAN users are permitted?