7 Replies Latest reply: Dec 30, 2012 1:40 PM by Danby RSS

Slingbox 350 and Shaw 630 receiver-can't get onscreen remote to work

Danby

Hi all, I'm very new to Slingbox, having recently acquired a SB350 for use with a Shaw (Motorola 630 PVR) Satellite receiver.  In the setup, I get as far as being able to see and hear the channel to which the 630 is set, but when I try to configure the remote, the SB does not find the remote.  Shaw advises that I should choose for the "equipment", Shaw and 0000 as ther  standard remote code.  I firstly verified that 0000 is indeed the correct code for my receiver, but selecting it doesn't work, i.e. the SB doesn't find it. 

I've tried using the IR blaster right beside the receiver, dangling in front of the IR sensor, tried it without the IR blaster, tried many different Shaw/Motorola settings, nothing works.  I just spent an hour and a half with a SB tekkie who took control of my computer, tried many different things and then we both gave up.  I programmed a Harmony remote and it is able to control my Shaw receiver with IR, so obviously the 630 is receiving IR but evidently not from the SB 350.  My conclusion is that the SB 350 is not producing IR.  Any other ideas before I give it back?

-Dan

• Re: Slingbox 350 and Shaw 630 receiver-can't get onscreen remote to work
          alanrichey42 Master

Much more likely that you aren't using the right codes.  Try this Custom Remote:  Motorola DSR-550   The instructions for installing it are at http://placeshiftingenthusiasts.com/how-to-add-custom-remote-bin-file-on-slingbox-500-and-350/

Danby

Thanks very much, Alan.  I'll try your suggestion before returning the unit, as I'm beginning to realize from problems others have had that it's likely not the IR in the Slingbox that's causing my problem. . .will let you and the others know how I make out.

Dan

Danby