3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 20, 2012 10:04 AM by archie.sling RSS

SlingBox Pro (SB200-xxx) Has Given Up!

acanning

Hello

I have been using my Slingbox Pro for a few years now without any problems other than a power supply issue about 6 months ago. I just bought a new one and all was fine.

However, last week I tried to use the Slingbox but it displayed an image for a few minutes and then froze. Ever since then I haven’t been successful in getting it to work.

When the Slingbox isn’t being used it sits with the power light and network light constantly lit. As soon as a connection is attempted the network light flickers and then goes out for a few seconds. It then seems to come back up again until I try to connect again.

These are the things I have tried.

1.       I have swapped out the power supply using two alternatives but this makes no difference.

2.       I have completely reset the Slingbox but cannot now configure it. When I try to configure using the web interface it sees the box and connects but eventually fails stating that my password is incorrect. I think this is a symptom of the network connection failing.

My internet connection is rock solid and I have a robust wired network in my house so I don’t think the problem lies there. The Slingbox also gets an ip address ok from my router so I don’t see the problem as being there either.

I’m thinking that a component inside the Slingbox has failed.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Many thanks

Ashley

• Re: SlingBox Pro (SB200-xxx) Has Given Up!
          Apprentice

Hello acanning,

First and foremost, thank you for being so detailed with what is going on. It makes it much easier to understand exactly what is causing the issue. I do have a couple questions in regards to your setup:

• Are you using any type of wireless bridge or Slinglinks within the setup?