2 Replies Latest reply: Sep 14, 2017 12:44 PM by JBOMA RSS

Slingbox 500 several problems (Heat/Fan?)

JBOMA

Excuse my bad English.

I recently bought a Slingbox 500 and are testing it for the first time at a distance. I am 3500 km away from home.

I have previously had a Slingbox Pro HD, which has worked great for several years. I bought Slingbox 500 for a better picture and higher bit rate especially for the Android app, which also was correct.

My STB-box (Humax) is the same for both boxes. Slingbox 500 is connected via HDMI.

I am a technician myself. But there are so many strange inconveniences that I ask you for help if you have experienced similar problems or have tips.

Here is info about my Slingbox 500: Firmware Version 01.10.102, Hardware Version 01.02.000

Here are the various problems:

1) The most serious problem is the bit rate falls for every minute. Over the Internet, I can get around 4 Mbits, which is OK, but after about 20 minutes the speed has dropped to 0.5 Mbits. And then it will not be possible to look any further, and the sound is hacking and disappearing. Some observations I made are that speed does not drop as fast in the local network where the Slingbox is located. There, the speed is around 7 Mbits, and sometimes it does not drop at all after 20 minutes, but sometimes it also drops.

Turning off and switching on Slingbox 500 does not help. The only thing that can get positive result is to turn off and turn on the router or Reboot of the router. I have tried another router and it is the same problem with Slingbox 500.

Slingbox Pro HD has no such problems, the speed is quite stable. I have both boxes set to stream at the highest speed (HD).