5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 4, 2012 1:23 PM by cornishrex RSS

Do I need a Boxee Box if I have an internet ready TV

rwiii

I have a Sony TV connected to the internet and can access Netflix, etc.  Do I need a Boxee Box to use Slingbox?  Thanks for the help

• Re: Do I need a Boxee Box if I have an internet ready TV
          callanish Apprentice

If your Sony TV doesn't have Google TV, then yes, you'll need something like the boxee box to watch your slingbox through your Sony TV.

denizkose

Hi I am new to Sling Box..I have a client who has a sling box account and system in England...he recently purchased the Sharp 80'' Aquos smart TV....What is required in order to view Sling Box on the Sharp TV.  Looking forward to your answer

callanish Apprentice

First of all there are no options, at this point, that will allow your client to directly use his Sharp Smart TV with his slingbox. You'll need to connect another piece of hardware first to it, in order to allow him to watch his slingbox stream.

In order to watch a slingbox from a remote location on a tv, you've got four options. One of those options, the slingcatcher, is no longer being sold by Slingmedia, unless you buy one from E-Bay, etc, but in my experience it has been the most stable and provides the best experience when connecting to a slingbox. I've tried all the three other platforms available for connected devices ( GoogleTV, WDTV Live, and Boxee ) and none of them are bug free, so it all depends on how tech savvy your client is, as unfortunately with all connected devices, outside of the slingcatcher, its not been a setup and forget situation without coming across various bug issues ( freezing, dropped connection issues, inconsistent quality of video stream, etc ).