13 Replies Latest reply: Nov 29, 2011 4:58 AM by bsheppard RSS

Slingcatcher not connecting to Sling ProHD

jhdewan

My Slingcatcher does not connect to Sling Pro HD which is at a remote location. It keep saying, there is a Network Error. But, strangely I can connect to the Slingbox with desktop Slingplayer and on the browser through Sling.com account. It connects and plays perfect. So, there shouldn't be any network issue. I've been using this Slingcatcher with Sling Tuner for a couple of years without any problem. Recently the Sling Tuner was broken. So, I bought the Pro HD. Just wanted to mention, this Slingcather also connects just fine with other Slingboxes that I have at other remote locations. Unfortunately, it is not connecting only to this particular Pro HD slingbox. I wonder why it keep saying about Network Error. Please help me here.

• Re: Slingcatcher not connecting to Sling ProHD
          callanish Apprentice

It's more than likely a port forwarding issue. When you connect to your slingbox from the slingplayer app, try alt.shift.i on the keyboard ( assuming you are running windows and not Mac ), what comes up under stream type. Is it SNATT or Relay? If that's what's coming up, then you've not done the slingbox setup correctly and you'll need to manually port forward your router to work with the slingbox to run a TCP stream. The slingcatcher doesn't work with SNATT, so that's my best guess on why you are getting the network connection error. The sling tuner was probably setup correctly to work with the slingcatcher, but you've missed a step somewhere with the Slingbox HD model when setting it up. Do a check with one of your other slingbox's that work with the slingcatcher and also check that type stream.

If you need specifics on portforwarding with a specific router, see if it's listed on this site

http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm

or follow sling's port forwarding setup here