2 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2011 7:43 PM by chakkarinen RSS

Basic Questions about Slingbox PRO-HD

rangers24

Hi,

I was thinking about getting a slingbox soon and I just needed a few questions answered before I buy it (I am a beginner with this product).

Basically, I want a slingbox so that I can watch my TV at home (specifically local sports broadcasts) while I am away at college about 3 hours from home.

At home I have a 1080p HDTV with a comcast HD DVR set top box.  My house's wireless modem and router are in a different room from the TV & box that I would hook the slingbox up to.

At college I would have my laptop (right now it's a windows but changing to Mac in the future is a possibility).  My internet would probably be through an ethernet connection in my dorm.

My basic questions are:

1. Could I watch TV in HD on my laptop using this setup?

2. Could I connect my laptop to an HDTV at school using an HDMI cable or is the picture quality insufficient for a bigger screen than a laptop?

3. Using this wireless at home ---> ethernet at school connection, will I get HD quality, making the PRO-HD slingbox a better option than the Slinbox solo?

4. Would I need any additional accessoories to accommodate this setup? (ie. converter to use wifi connection for slinbox with modem/router in different room?, etc?)

5. Is the slingbox picture quality typically sharp enough for watching sports or is it better suited for TV shows and such?

If anyone could answer these questions or direct me somewhere where these questions are better suited that would be great.

Thanks

• Re: Basic Questions about Slingbox PRO-HD
          jmpozzo Newbie

Hello!

1 - Depends on your internet connection speeds:

- Upload speed at the place your SlingBox will be (You need at least 2Mb/s upload speeds for HD to even work, closer to 3Mb/s for it to be smooth & sharp.)